Voting Opens for the British Poker Awards 2013

Voting Opens for the British Poker Awards 2013In contrast to the traditional tub-thumbing that normally heralds the start of voting for the British Poker Awards, this year´s launch has been a subdued affair.

The fanfare of press releases and Tweets announcing the British Poker Awards have been conspicuous by their absence this year despite voting having started several weeks ago – it is almost like the British poker-playing public have got nothing to celebrate.

Sure, there is no UK poker player in the climax of the WSOP Main Event and only four players feature in the top 100 of the GPI Index, but surely it was not that bad a year for UK poker players? Sam Trickett, David Vamplew and Barny Boatman have all had tremendous results on the live circuit, while Messers Moorman, Lewis and McCorkell continue to boss it on the virtual felt.

Thirteen Categories to Choose From

Voters are being asked to register their votes in thirteen different categories in the British Poker Awards web site, with two further awards being determined by a panel of judges and two more being voted on by invited professional players. The categories and nominees are as follow:-

Best Live Tournament Player
Matt Ashton
Stephen Chidwick
David Vamplew
Toby Lewis
Matt Perrins
Sam Trickett
Best Online Tournament Player 
Chris Moorman
Chris Brammer
Charlie Combes
Andrew Hulme
Craig McCorkell
Toby Lewis
Best Poker League
Champions Poker League
Discover Poker League
Live Pub Poker league
Nuts Poker league
Poker Tree
Redtooth Poker
Performance of the Year
Matt Ashton
Matt Perrins
Barny Boatman
David Vamplew
Stephen Chidwick
Best Online Cash Player
Alexander Millar
Rob Akery
David gent
Ben Grundy
Matt Ashton
Best UK Tournament
ISPT Wembley
EPT London
UKIPT Nottingham
GukPT Goliath
DTD Grand Prix
Poker Personality of the Year 
Jake Cody
Sam Grafton
Neil Channing
Liv Boeree
Sam Razavi
Best International Player
David Baker
Dan Kelly
Viktor Blom
Daniel Negreanu
Marvin Rettenmaier
Best Blogger
David Nicholson
Kara Scott
Dale Philip
Rupert Elder
Neil Channing
Best Social Media User
Sam Razavi
Sam Grafton
Betfair Twitter Account
Victoria Coren
Neil Channing
Best Live Card Room
The Vic
The Hippodrome
Aspers Stratford
G Casino Coventry
Best Poker Software
Poker Tracker
Note Caddy
Poker Stove
Best Poker Training Site
Run It Once
Poker X Factor
Leggo Poker
Deuces Cracked
Judges Choice
Judges will be voting on:-

Best Contribution to Poker
Lifetime Achievement

Pro Players Choice
Players will be voting on:-

Best Tournament Director
Best Live Cash Player

No date or venue has yet been announced for the award ceremony, but voters have the opportunity of attending the star-studded event by liking the British Poker Awards on Facebook and being entered into a draw offering tickets to five lucky winners.