Richard Sinclair Wins PokerStars UKIPT Champion of Champions

Richard SinclairScotsman Richard Sinclair has lifted the biggest prize by winning the PokerStars United Kingdom and Ireland Poker Tour (UKIPT) Champion of Champions tournament at Nottingham’s Dusk Till Dawn venue.

The Armadale-based player left with hotel accommodation and buy-ins for all of next year’s third season of the UKIPT after winning his place at the sit and go event by taking down June’s Newcastle tournament.

An online specialist, Sinclair spoke to PokerStars following his Newcastle victory, stating that he did not travel to many events as the costs were too high. He won’t have to concern himself with that next year, though. Good man.

A delighted Sinclair again chatted with PokerStars following his victory, saying: “This means I’m freerolling season three of the UKIPT, which is great.

“Cutting down on expenses and hotel costs is huge. I’m really looking forward to defending my title in Newcastle and coming back to Dusk Till Dawn.”

The eight winners of main events on this year’s tour came together at the weekend to play out a single table poker game, with Sinclair seeing off Matt McDerra (winner of UKIPT Manchester), Sam Razavi (Cork), Joeri Zandvliet (Dublin), Chris O’Donnell (Brighton), Gareth Walker (Nottingham) and Fintan Gavin (Edinburgh).

Once those six were eliminated, Sinclair then found himself confronted by double UKIPT champion Nick Abou Risk in a heads-up clash.

However, the Scot emerged victorious after his A♠ 9♠ beat out Canadian Abou Risk’s K♣ 6.

Sinclair, on the button, raised to 5,100 before Dublin-based Abou Risk went all-in for about 40,000. Sinclair called ahead of a flop that showed 4♣ J♠ J♣.

The A arrived on the turn to leave the Canadian drawing dead. The 6 on the river mean nothing and Sinclair was champion.

Qualifying for the first stop on next year’s tour in Galway (from February to 16-20) at PokerStars.

PokerStars UKIPT Champion of Champions Final Placings

1. Richard Sinclair (UK)

2. Nick Abou Risk (Canada)

3. Sam Razavi (UK)

4. Matt McDerra (UK)

5. Joeri Zandvliet (Netherlands)

6. Chris O’Donnell (UK)

7. Gareth Walker (UK)

8. Fintan Gavin (Ireland)