Patience Pays for Simba at APPT Cebu

Jae Kyung ‘Simba’ Sim took down the APPT Cebu Main Event in the Philippines last night for almost $100,000 after playing what he described as a patient game.

Home » Poker News » Poker Tournaments » Patience Pays for Simba at APPT Cebu

Patience Pays for Simba at APPT CebuJae Kyung ‘Simba’ Sim took down the APPT Cebu Main Event in the Philippines last night for almost $100,000 after playing what he described as a patient game. 

Sim indeed had been patient during the penultimate day of the Asia Pacific Poker Tour Main Event in Cebu – starting the day in 24th position of the 25 players remaining and only creeping into the money courtesy of a double up A 10 > A 7 against Anthony Wright.

Once the bubble had burst, Sim was still the short-stack, but a double up against Michael Allmrodt A 10♣ > A 7, and then two more against big chip leader Jim Collopy A 9♠ (flopped top pair) v 6♠ 6 and K♣ 9 (flopped top pair) > 7♣ 4♣ (flopped second pair) won Sim a seat at the final table.

# APPT Cebu – Final Table Chips
1 Jim Collopy 605,000
2 Bawod Hyunshik Yun 528,000
3 Daniel Spence 450,000
4 Anthony Wright 412,000
5 Jae Kyung Sim 371,000
6 Andrew Nguyen 316,000
7 Magnus Karlsson 221,000
8 Timo Kohijoki 148,000
9 Michael Allmrodt 34,000


Simba Storms Final Table

There was little of Jae Kyung Sim´s ‘patience’ showing during the early levels of the final table. Within the hour that remained in Level 18 (blinds 4,000/8,000 – ante 1,000) Sim took out Andrew Nguyen (A K > A♣ Q), Michael Allmrodt (Q♣ J♠ -flopped top pair > K♠ 6♠) and Timo Kohijoki (A 10♠ > J 10♣).

As Level 19 started (blinds 5,000/10,000 – ante 1,000) Sim continued his final table assault – taking chips from Anthony Wright, Daniel Spence and Jim Collopy before busting out Bawod Hyunshik Yun A A > A♣ K to take the chip lead with over 1.5 million chips – almost half the chips in play.

Karlsson and Wright Emerge as Challengers

While Jae Kyung Sim was repeatedly doing damage to Jim Collopy´s chip stack (Collopy was coolered by Sim in a Full House over Trip Nines hand and then when Sim turned a Flush to best Collopy´s flopped set) Magnus Karlsson and Anthony Wright emerged as the biggest threats to Jae Kyung Sim´s final table superiority.

Magnus Karlsson chipped up to over 800,000 chips when eliminating Daniel Spence in fifth position (A Q♠ > 8 5), while Anthony Wright busted the recent WSOP APAC Pot Limit Omaha bracelet winner Jim Collopy in fourth place, when Collopy ran his Q Q♠ into Spence´s A A♠. However, now having two-thirds of the chips in play, Sim´s lead ultimately proved to be unassailable.

Sim´s Patience Runs Out and Luck Takes Over

After an eternity, during which few hands progressed beyond the flop, Jae Kyung Sim´s patience eventually took back seat as the players were about to reach the end of Level 23 (blinds 12,000/24,000 – ante 4,000). In the final hand before the break, Sim opened to 50,000 chips from the small blind, before being met with an all-in for 300,000 chips from Anthony Wright on the big blind.

Sim snap-called, and both players tabled their cards. Anthony Wright was at a slight advantage with 6 6♣ against Jae Kyung Sim´s A K♣, but the A on the Turn gave Sim the top pair and eliminated Wright from The APPT Cebu Main Event in third.

With a 5:1 chip advantage, the heads-up between Jae Kyung Sim and Magnus Karlsson was only to last three hands; however the manner of Sim´s victory was a lucky flop rather than a masterclass in poker.

With blinds now at 15,000/30,000 (ante 5,000) Magnus Karlsson raised to 60,000 chips and Jae Kyung Sim made the call. Following the flop of 4 7 5♠, Sim checked to Karlsson, who bet out 65,000. Sim raised to 155,000 chips to which Karlsson responded by moving all-in and Sim instantly called.

When the two players rolled over the cards, Jae Kyung Sim (8 6) had flopped a straight and, with nothing on the turn or river to help Karlsson (10♠ 6), Jae Kyung ‘Simba’ Sim became the APPT Cebu Main Event Champion.

APPT Cebu Main Event Result

The currency used for the buy-in and prize money at the APPT Cebu Main Event was the Philippine Peso (PHP). At about 40 PHP to the dollar, Jae Kyung ‘Simba’ Sim´s prize for taking down the Main Event was a little under $100,000.

# APPT Cebu – Result Prize (PHP)
1 Jae Kyung Sim 3,948,000
2 Magnus Karlsson 2,538,000
3 Anthony Wright 1,480,000
4 Jim Collopy 1,128,000
5 Daniel Spence 917,000
6 Bawod Hyunshik Yun 705,000
7 Timo Kohijoki 564,000
8 Michael Allmrodt 458,000
9 Andrew Nguyen 352,920