Leonid Bilokur Tops WSOP Event #13 After Day 2

Leonid BilokurRussian pro Leonid Bilokur finished Day 2 of the $1,500 buy-in Limit Hold’em event #13 at the World Series of Poker (WSOP) as chip leader in Las Vegas.

Day 1 started with 730 players, which was reduced to 222 before Day 2 ended with just 25 survivors – all of who are guaranteed at least $6,652 after the money bubble was burst when Indianapolis’ Thomas Munson picked up $2,453 in 81st place from the $985,500 prize pool.

It took 10 hours of play in the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino’s Amazon Room before those final 25 were known, with Moscow’s Bilokur bagging up 318,000 chips to hold a healthy lead over second placed Ian Johns (258,000), of Washington State. California’s Chris Swan holds 256,000 in third place.

Huck Seed is Money Bubble Boy

Numerous big-name pros failed to make the money, though, including bubble boy Huck Seed, Randy Lew, David Sklansky, Matt Glantz, Michael ‘The Grinder’ Mizrachi, JC Tran, Jason Mercier and Chad Brown.

Several other well-known players failed to survive into Day 3 but cashed, including Humberto Brenes (35th for $5,469), Eric Buchman (42nd for $4,572), Brett Jungblut (51st for $3,833), John Racener (67th for $2,769), Men ‘The Master’ Nguyen (74th for $2,453) and Justin Bonomo (75th for $2,453).

Isaac Haxton Chasing First Bracelet

However, not every notable pro hit the rail, with the likes of California’s Al ‘Sugar Bear’ Barbieri (fifth on 214,000), New York State’s Roland Israelashvili (sixth on 199,000) and Vegas-based Isaac Haxton (18th on 72,000) – in search of his first bracelet – as well as Pennsylvania’s Alex Queen (20th on 66,000) returning later today.

Day 3 will see a winner crowned, with all chasing the gold bracelet and $211,921 top prize.

WSOP 2012 Event #13 Day 2 Top 10 Chip Counts

1. Leonid Bilokur (Russia) – 318,000

2. Ian Johns (USA) – 258,000

3. Chris Swan (USA) – 256,000

4. Ben Landowski (USA) – 240,000

5. Al Barbieri (USA) – 214,000

6. Roland Israelashvili (USA) – 199,000

7. Glenn Engelbert (USA) – 190,000

8. Jeff Weiss (USA) – 171,000

9. Kevin Mcguinness (USA) – 164,000

10. Bruce Rosen (USA) – 159,000