Foxen One Step Closer To Becoming POY

Home » Poker News » Foxen One Step Closer To Becoming POY

The end of 2019 is near, and it’s time to look back at the last 12 months and see how players performed. One player, in particular, is doing pretty well, and that’s Alex Foxen, who just managed to win the Season XVIII WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic.

This huge victory brought him a total of $1,694,995, which is yet another addition to his already astonishing resume of live earnings.

Foxen actually has a lot of experience playing at this type of tournament, as he already managed to end up as runner-up in the 2017 edition of it. However, he knew very well that he would have to win this year to move up the ladder in the Player of the Year race.

Therefore, it was definitely a lot of pressure for him, but he managed to give his best and top the event, emerging a leader and the most likely candidate to become the Player of the Year for 2019.

Final Table Results

The final table consisted of six professional poker players, and the first one to hit the rail was Jonathan Jaffe, who earned a total of $355,125. He was soon followed by Danny Park for $465,780.

The fourth-place player was Peter Neff, who managed to earn $617,480, while third place was reserved for Seth Davis and the amount of $827,285.

The remaining two players who played in the heads-up part of the tournament were Toby Joyce and Foxen. Joyce was the final opponent and the last one to be taken down by Foxen, who had a really great run. Joyce received a consolation prize of only $1,120,040.

On the other hand, Foxen took the biggest share of the prize pool, but that wasn’t why he came to the tournament. Apart from winning in the event, Foxen is also now ranked No. 1 in the 2019 Player of the Year race, meaning he could be proclaimed the best player in 2019.

Foxen to Make Poker History

The POY race is very intense at the moment, as Bryn Kenney, Kahle Burns, Stephen Chidwick, and Sean Winter all want that title for themselves. However, the most likely player to win the 2019 POY race is Foxen.

Officials at the Global Poker Index stated that they need to double-check all the data to make sure all calculations are correct.

Looking back on the previous POYs, we see a lot of familiar names. In 2012, it was Dan Smith who won the title, and the next one was Ole Schemion in 2013. The year of 2014 was definitely reserved for Daniel Colman, and Byron Kaverman dominated in 2015.

During 2016, we could see a lot of David Peters in play, and he eventually became the 2016 POY. The Spanish poker pro, Adrian Mateos, took that title in 2017. However, what we’re really interested in is the winner of the 2018 POY. It was none other than Foxen himself.

Therefore, if he wins the title once again in 2019, he will become the only poker player in history to win back-to-back POY titles, which will make him rather unique and one of a kind in the world of poker.

Foxen has definitely had a stellar career, especially during the last couple of years, and he deserves this title once again. However, let’s wait for the official results and not immediately jump to conclusions.