Doyle Brunson wants Erik Seidel in WSOP Hall of Fame 2010

Doyle BrunsonPoker legend and Hall of Fame member Doyle ‘Texas Dolly’ Brunson has been speaking about who he hopes will be inducted to the Hall of Fame when the ceremony takes place in November for the 2010 WSOP Main Event Final Table. The Poker Hall of Fame was founded in 1979 when Johnny Moss became the first inductee and since then there has been 38 players inducted, with Doyle Brunson being one of them along with legends of the game such as Johnny Chan, Amarillo Slim, and the late Chip Reese.

Doyle has state that he will be very suprised if Erik Seidel isn’t one of the inductee’s this year and feels he meets all of the requirements needed to become a member of the Hall of Fame. He said that people don’t remember Seidel in high-stakes cash games but that years ago he was involved in all of the big games and did very well, also stating the fact that Seidel reminds him of Chip Reese – now that is quite a compliment albeit a deserved one.

When speaking about who he think should join Seidel he pointed to Barry Greenstein or Phil Ivey. He said he thinks Greenstein should be inducted because he meets all of the requirements and that Ivey should wait a few more years until he is older despite matching the requirements. Of the other nominee’s Brunson stated that Scotty Nguyen also matches all of the requirements however his behaviour in the $50k HORSE event he won would take a few more years to fade from peoples memories, feeling that isn’t the behaviour of a Poker Hall of Famer. Below you can find more information about the requirements needed to be inducted as well as the list of ten players shortlisted for the honor, with only two of them to be inducted.

Criteria to be elected to the Poker Hall of Fame:

  • Must have played against top competition
  • Played for high-stakes and played consistently well
  • Stood the test of time
  • Contributed to the overall growth and success of poker
  • Earned respect from their peers

The 2010 Hall of Fame Candidates

  • Erik Seidel
  • Phil Ivey
  • Barry Greenstein
  • Linda Johnson
  • Jennifer Harman
  • Dan Harrington
  • Tom McEvoy
  • Daniel Negreanu
  • Chris Ferguson
  • Scotty Nguyen

Erik Seidel and Barry Greenstein are certainly worthy of being inducted to the Hall of Fame this year. While many poker fans will be hoping Phil Ivey earns his place, Ivey himself has gone on record stating he would actually be disappointed at being inducted this year and would rather wait a few more years before earning his place. One thing for certain is all three players I just mentioned will be inducted at some point, and they all deserve it. Who do you think will be inducted this year?