Bellagio Cup VII Up and Running in Las Vegas

Bellagio CupThe World Series of Poker (WSOP) isn’t the only show in town right now as the Bellagio Cup VII has started at The Bellagio Hotel Casino in Las Vegas.

The World Poker Tour (WPT) event will, however, allow registration for its $10,000 No-Limit Hold’em main event until approximately 18:00 (Pacific Time) – or when eight levels are played – today, so expect more than a few WSOP main event casualties to sign up just in time to join the current 162 entrants.

The event is scheduled to last six days with the winner – who will pick up a seat at next year’s $25,000 WPT Championship next spring at The Bellagio as part of the top prize – crowned at the final table next Tuesday, while there is a $5,000 No-Limit Hold’em event that begins at 13:00 (PT) on Monday.

Players start the main event with 40,000 chips as the blinds begin at 50 and 100 in 90-minute levels, with a 15-minute break after each level ends.

This is the seventh Bellagio Cup, with last year’s event attracting 353 players during the WPT’s Season IX schedule as German Moritz Kranich lifted the trophy and $875,150.

American star Phil Ivey finished third at last year’s event for $363,650, but it is doubtful he’ll make an appearance this year after pulling out of the WSOP following the closing of poker website Full Tilt Poker and the ensuing troubles that have followed as the 35-year-old gave his backing to American players unable to access to their accounts.

However, while last year’s event was included on the WPT schedule for a fourth time, this tournament is not featured on the Season X calendar.

In fact, the next Bellagio event included on the WPT schedule is the Five Diamond World Poker Classic that runs from December 10-15.

Previous Bellagio Cup champions:

2010: Moritz Kranich (Germany) – $875,150

2009: Alexandre Gomes (Brazil) – $1,187,670

2008: Michael Watson (Canada) – $1,673,770

2007: Kevin Saul (USA) – $1,342,320

2006: Shannon Shorr (USA) – $960,000

2005: Amnon Filippi (USA) – $364,200