Anton Makievskyi Leads WSOP 2011 Main Event Day 7

The identities of the November Nine from the World Series of Poker (WSOP)’s $10,000 No-Limit Hold’em Championship came a step closer to being known after Day 7 of the main event in Las Vegas last night.

Anton MakiievskyiThe identities of the November Nine from the World Series of Poker (WSOP)’s $10,000 No-Limit Hold’em Championship came a step closer to being known after Day 7 of the main event in Las Vegas last night.

A total of 57 players started yesterday’s five two-hour levels of play, but we’re now left with 22 – with everyone guaranteed at least $302,005 – although it was hoped that the final 18 would be reached before Day 8 begins this evening in the Amazon Room of the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino.

Heading the field going into Day 8 is Ukrainian Anton Makievskyi, who holds 21,045,000 in chips as he aims to pick up the gold bracelet and $8,711,956 from a prize pool of $64,531,000 that was created by a starting line-up of 6,865 players.

Makievskyi is followed by Irishman Eoghan O’Dea on 19,500,000, Khoa Nguyen, of Canada, on 16,435,000, Russian Andrey Pateychuk on 16,245,000, and Tulsa’s Ben Lamb – who started the day in second spot – on 14,690,000.

Alamaba’s Ryan Lenaghan began Day 7 as chip leader with 12,865,000, but has dropped back into eighth place on 10,415,000, while Pateychuk produced a consistent display to remain steady in fourth place.

Our new chip leader, Makievskyi, meanwhile, moved atop the leaderboard following a huge 20-million pot win against Chris Moore, of Illinois, that left the American in a tough position to stay alive.

Dnipropetrovsk’s Makievskyi, in early position, raised to 400,000, while Moore called from middle position to see a flop of K♠ J♣ J. Makievskyi then fired in a 400,000 continuation bet, only for Moore to raise to 1.1 million.

But Makievskyi replied with a 2.8 million re-raise of his own, before Moore went all-in. In reply, Makievskyi snap-called for us to see the biggest pot of the 2011 WSOP at 20,370,000.

Makievskyi showed K J♠ to hold a full house, while Moore revealed A J for trip jacks to leave the American needing some major help on the turn and river.

However, the 6♠ arrived on the turn to mean Moore had only the river to find an ace. The 4 came, though, to see a thrilled Makievskyi run over to his supporters at the rail for some major celebrations.

Moore, meanwhile, had been battered down to less than two million, although he fought back to end the day with 3,040,000 in chips in 22nd place.

Of course, many well-known players hit the rail in the Rio last night, including Steve Brecher (31st for $242,636), Erick Lindgren (43rd for $196,174), Erika Moutinho (29th for $242,636), David ‘Doc’ Sands (30th for $242,636), Andrew Brokos (53rd for $160,036), Team PokerStars Pros Tony Hachem (37th for $196,174) and Sebastian Ruthenberg (55th for $130,997), and British star JP Kelly (26th for $302,005).

Even with so many big-name pros hitting the rail, there are still many quality players left in the main event for the final day of the summer, with the likes of Sam Barnhart – the WSOP Circuit National Championship winner – Phil Collins, Lars Bonding and Bryan Devonshire joining the chip leaders for Day 8.

Play will run until we reach the November Nine this evening in the Rio, so fans can expect a thrilling day of action as the final 22 survivors hope to outlast at least 13 players to return this autumn.

Chip counts after Day 7 of the WSOP 2011 $10,000 No-Limit Hold’em Championship:

1. Anton Makievskyi (Ukraine) – 21,045,000

2. Eoghan O’Dea (Ireland) – 19,500,000

3. Khoa Nguyen (Canada) – 16,435,000

4. Andrey Pateychuk (Russia) – 16,245,000

5. Ben Lamb (USA) – 14,690,000

6. Phil Collins (USA) – 13,805,000

7. John Hewitt (USA) – 13,265,000

8. Ryan Lenaghan (USA) – 10,415,000

9. Matt Giannetti (USA) – 8,920,000

10. Konstantinos Mamaliadis (South Africa) – 8,195,000

11. Pius Heinz (Germany) – 7,510,000

12. Aleksandr Mozhnyakov (Russia) – 7,075,000

13. Scott Schwalich (USA) – 6,920,000

14. Martin Staszko (Czech Republic) – 6,380,000

15. Bryan Devonshire (USA) – 6,190,000

16. Sam Barnhart (USA) – 4,935,000

17. Samuel Holden (UK) – 4,740,000

18. Gionni Demers (USA) – 4,655,000

19. Kenny Shih (USA) – 4,530,000

20. Lars Bonding (USA) – 4,140,000

21. Badih Bounahra (Brazil) – 3,835,000

22. Chris Moore (USA) – 3,040,000