AJ Jejelowo Wins Southern Regional WSOPC

WSOPCThe last World Series of Poker Circuit (WSOPC) tournament before Friday’s Million Dollar National Championship freeroll has ended in New Orleans with AJ Jejelowo defeating 74 other poker players to the $235,956 top prize.

The 27-year-old said he was “stoked” to lift the prize after 12 hours’ play at the fourth $10,000 Regional Championship tournament that took place in Louisiana.

A Rice University medical researcher in Houston, Texas, the thrilled Jejelowo reckons he can now “pay off some of my student loans”, adding that “this feels great to win” – even though he is “really tired right now, too” after a hard day at Hannah’s.

Similar to the Dusk Till Dawn event in England, there was a final-table agreement that meant the bubble moved from eighth to ninth place to guarantee everyone at least $12,000, a seat at the $1 million freeroll this coming weekend and a place in front of the television cameras at Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas.

It was, however, something of a surprise that just 75 players entered the competition with so much at stake.

Nonetheless, Jejelowo still had to become the last man standing and defeated Gary Friedlander after entering heads-up play with a healthy 3-1 chip advantage.

Friedlander give it his all, but couldn’t overcome Jejelowo, although he did make a decent effort by denting the eventual winner’s chip lead.

The final hand came when Friedlander held Ad-Kd to Jejelowo’s Ah-9d. With Jejelowo having gone all-in, Friedlander dominated his opponent, but was beaten when the board came Qs-6d-5d-Ac-9s. That nine of spades did the damage to give Jejelowo two pair against Friedlander’s single pair.

Friedlander did have the consolation of earning $145,422 as the runner-up, however, while both now enter the WSOPC National Championship that runs from Friday until Sunday and possesses a $300,000 top prize.

Final table placings from the Southern Regional WSOPC Championship:
1. AJ Jejelowo – $235,956
2. Gary Friedlander – $145,422
3. Harry Cullen – $95,214
4. Allie Prescott – $66,202
5. Scott Lipshutz – $48,673
6. Allen Kessler – $37,736
7. Matt Waxman – $30,794
8. Kunal Patel – $25,401
9. Jeremy Gaubert – $12,000